A newborn blog, even if blogs are dead

I was an early adopter of blogging, setting up Sink or Swim in June 2004, a whopping seven years ago. As much as I hated to see the old blog go, I decided it was time for a change.

But it wasn’t without some thought. With Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and other social media, is a blog really necessary?

I can see both sides to this. Why write prose when you can get it across in 140 characters or less? Who will really read the blog anyway?

After playing around with the format for years, I’ve come to the conclusion that a blog without focus is quite useless. That’s why I’ve decided to make this blog more professional, less personal, but still personal enough to make it interesting.

This is the place where I’ll share the stories that didn’t make the paper and the inspirations I meet along the way. It’s a place where I hope to share photos, videos and stories about the people I meet (both on and off the clock). It’s both resume and Facebook friendly.

So if you want a peek into the life of a young journalist, someone who just broke into the industry three years ago after pining for a reporting job for years, someone who loves her new Maritime home and still has so much to explore, please bookmark me and read on!

– April

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “A newborn blog, even if blogs are dead”

  1. Anyone can tweet. Not everyone can craft well written, nuanced narratives. As long as a blog is well written and focused on a topic I care about, I’ll keep reading it. I have a hunch this one will meet that standard. 😉

Leave a Reply

