Snap happy

I have always thought I was pretty good at photography. That was, until I had to take photos for all my stories in Yellowknife with my own SLR camera. Then, it dawned on me that shooting on auto is not in fact good photography. Anyone can do it. I didn’t even know how to take a photo without the flash popping up.

Ever since then, I have been very timid taking photos, though I still love it. I suppose I felt a little embarrassed that it wasn’t a skill I had picked up along the way.

Well this afternoon, I am heaving a sigh of relief. I made an oath to Noel Chenier today that I will never shoot on auto again. “It’s crap,” as he says, and I believe him. All the good photos I have taken up to this point were pretty much by luck.

Today I took Noel’s beginner SLR course, and for $60, it’s an amazing investment for anyone who wants to brush up on their technical photography skills. I now properly understand how to get the effects I love, by adjusting the aperture, shutter speeds or ISO. I have a much better understanding of how to shoot without a flash, how to do manual metering, and some other neat tricks.

Here’s one I took of my kitty, Ginger, as soon as I got home (trying to take advantage of the natural light from the window):

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

2 thoughts on “Snap happy”

  1. That’s a great shot! What course is this that is only 60 bux? I need to accredited for my photography skills. I had to learn everything by trial and error and you tube. But if I want to ppl to take me seriously I feel like I should take a course.

  2. I can’t believe Canada is doing its People justice. show the world Canada is and always a force to be reconed with. In all of its glory;( of which I was fortunate enough to explore) there isn’t another place on earth that has the intelligence, will and pride to take on such a mission.
    I originally come from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. My travels have taken me world wide.
    Good luck with the bidding. God Bless Canada!

Leave a Reply

