Fog

Some days in Saint John, the fog feels like it’s closing in on your head. On bad days, that pressure can feel like a vice.

On good days, the fog is serene and mystical. It adds to Saint John’s charm.

The last 10 days, the fog seemed to seep into my head and never left. I had vertigo, which made me feel uncomfortably dizzy, all day, every day, as long as I was moving my head.

I missed two days of work on the worst days. All I wanted to do was lie down.

The cause is mysterious, some kind of inner ear issue that is triggered without rhyme or reason. And no, I don’t think it’s something I can truly blame on the fog, though for a while, I was joking that I had fog disease.

Now that I’m finally feeling better, I am so grateful to be a healthy person. How horrible it is to have a strange ailment and not know when it will go away. Health is so easily taken for granted.

One of the worst parts of the vertigo is I felt too sick to exercise, and I love to run and workout.

Now all I can think about is when and where I will run to next, and what music I will listen to.

As a side note, I wanted to share my results for the Hampton 5-miler, which was Sept. 11. I ran it with my bf and his mother, and we all did really well. My guy beat me by a minute exactly. I ran the course in 46:21, which was an average of 9:18 a mile and 11/30 in my age group. I’m not signed up for another race, but  hoping to try something else in the weeks to come to keep up the momentum!

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

One thought on “Fog”

Leave a Reply

