Next challenge: 10K

Ready to run

My first 10K race will be May 5 at the YSJ 10K. It’s a race around Saint John’s airport runway.

Thanks to the moderate spring weather over the past few weeks, I’ve been able to get quite a few kilometres in pounding the pavement. And I’ve noticed my times seem to be improving since last summer. So, I’m pretty confident that at least completing the race should be a cinch.

Reaching my goal might be another challenge. I want to run this one in under an hour. Kind of a tall order for a novice runner. But I want to aim high.

The other thing I’m a little nervous about is a rule about no ear buds or iPods. Understandably, since it’s an airport with actual airplanes, I can see this as a safety issue. But my music is such a motivator for me, and my playlist kicks butt. Without music, I focus more on my laboured breathing and I think it psychs me out. So I will need to practise running without music. Runners who do this often says it helps them focus on the pleasure of the run, so I’m thinking a good place to practise this will be the Irving Nature Park, my favourite place to run in Saint John.

As for training, I decided not to stick to a serious regimen but keep doing what I’ve been doing: two to three runs a week, one of them being eight to 10 K, a spinning class and also trying to fit in some strength training. I should also really be doing yoga.

For eating, just trying to eat as many fruit and veggies as possible, less sugar, more fibre and more protein.

This will be my third race ever! The best part is my little sister will be visiting for the weekend and will be cheering me on from the sidelines.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

2 thoughts on “Next challenge: 10K”

  1. This is great April! I’m doing my second 10km in a few weeks. I can’t imagine having to run it with no music. Good luck with reaching your goal of under an hour!

Leave a Reply

