Tackling the half

I’m not quite sure what it is that pushes your feet to keep moving when you’re in the middle of a steep hill, heart pounding, sweat beading, breath heavy, 16 kilometres into a run.

Image
Training for the half

But whatever it is, you have to dig deep and find it when training for a half-marathon — especially in Saint John, where the hills are plentiful.

Yes, I plan to tackle the half on Aug. 12 in the Marathon By the Sea. It will be the first time I will have run 21 km, ever in my life.

Today I managed to crank out 19 km so I think I will be ready.

There are three weeks to go until the race. The Olympics will be happening around the same time, which I think will be truly inspiring.

My goal is just to finish, but I am pretty confident I can finish it under 2:15:00

I’ve been following a training plan I found online since May 13. Basically it’s four to five days of running and/or cross training, including one long run on the weekend that gradually gets longer every week.

The next two weeks will be full of the regular training – with a full 20-km run planned for next weekend, then it will be time to “taper,” which I’m told is the hardest part after you’re so used to running on a regular basis.

I hope to blog about my progress, and of course, the race, so keep checking back as I share my challenges and triumphs along the way.

For now, it’s time for me to recuperate, drink water and eat. I’m so rungry.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

Leave a Reply

