Dark, cold days

It gets dark at like, 5 p.m. now, and I’m sick with a head cold, and my running stats are wayyyyyy down.

So am I in a slump? And did I just eat some pie? Maybe.

Image

But I like to think I’m not the only one feeling this way. It’s so yucky outside at this time of year. The lack of sunlight is not so inspiring for exercise. This, compounded with work stress and flu season has probably gotten me sick.

I haven’t been that bad, though. I did go for a run this week (only 4 km as you can see, but it’s something). And the day after that, I did Sandra‘s boot camp at K2 Health Consulting (about 90 each of push ups, sit ups, squats, lunges and many other treacherous activities).

Since then, I haven’t done too much but nurse my cold, rake some leaves and do a little housework. My taste buds are dull so I haven’t been craving junk. And tomorrow is a new day.  It’s going to be sunny at 15 C, and it’s a holiday, so a perfect excuse to get out and enjoy the fresh, fall air. Maybe even run if my respiratory system is up to it.

I would really like to keep running through the winter, so I need to kick this habit of slacking when the weather sucks.

Ginger depicts how I feel.
Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

One thought on “Dark, cold days”

  1. Hope you feel better soon! I had an awful head cold this week, I’m just about over it now but it really wrecked my regular gym routine while it lasted.

Leave a Reply

