Health goals for 2013

Image
After a brisk -5 C run in December – before there was snow!

January is more than halfway over and I still haven’t written down my goals for 2013. They have been floating around my head over these past two weeks – while I took a trip home to visit my family then returned to Saint John to breaking news involving the arrest of a city councillor – but now it’s time make it real.

Goal-setting can be scary. Sometimes I find it weird thinking about month in advance, let alone a year or 10 years down the road. Maybe it’s because of my job – writing for a daily newspaper when things can change at the drop of a hat. Or maybe it’s because my life has changed drastically (and not in a bad way) from what I once imagined it would be like. While you may never know what life will throw at you, I have learned that you can take charge of your health.

Lululemon encourages people to not only set goals but a personal “vision.” If you are like me and still haven’t made your goals, here are some tips from Lulu:

  • use affirmative language
  • write in present tense
  • make it measurable
  • be specific
  • by when

My big goal for 2013: I run my second half-marathon and beat my personal best in the spring of 2013

I feel good about this goal because it’s realistic, and I get excited about it! It’s also going to be challenging and it will force me to stay in shape. The time to beat: 2:16

Another running goal: I run a 10-kilometre race in 2013 and beat my personal best of 53:26.

There are a lot of great races to chose from: The YSJ 10-K, the Moncton Legs for Literacy, and many others I haven’t tried before!

Another thing I want to improve over last year: I strength-train at least twice a week.

Last year I ran, did spinning, and a few other activities, but I know if I get stronger, it will improve my performance.

And finally: I practise yoga at least twice a month.

Runners are known for having extra-tight muscles. My muscles are sore and tight as I type this (thanks to Sandra‘s bootcamp!) and I know more stretching, lengthening and flexibility could do me good – not to mention the extra OM in my life.

Of course, it would also be good to tone up the ol’ belly before my trip to Jamaica in April. But I hope by doing the above, and eating right, that will take care of itself. Plus, I hate putting the focus of my health goals on looks/vanity.

So, where does that leave me? With running, strength and yoga, I will be a busy bee. I should run at least three times a week – more if I’m training for a half – so it will be a good five or six days of activity to get these goals accomplished. Over the past few weeks, I have been down to three days a week (less when I was away and during last week’s feverish breaking news).

According to my random Google search and this website, I should start pre-training immediately, getting comfortable with running five days a week at five to eight kilometres a pop. Time to get moving!

Let's go!
Let’s go!

 

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “Health goals for 2013”

  1. Holy moly! Running 4-5 days a week is a LOT! Even as I train for my 30km race in March, I’m only running twice a week. One short run during the week, one long one on the weekend. I mix in weights, spinning and yoga too but that keeps me pretty busy!!! GOOD LUCK with your goals. They are great. Very attainable and I know you will dominate your PBs!! Wish we could run races together!!!

  2. I know! I find a lot of running training plans out there want you to run five times a week, but it’s not very realistic and doesn’t allow for cross-training. So I am scheduling two short runs and one long run, plus my weekly “bootcamp” and one spinning. Hoping to work in one or two extra strength workouts after runs too.

Leave a Reply

