The training plan

It’s hard to believe, but I’m already into Week 6 of a slow-building training plan to gear up for my second half-marathon on May 12.

Here’s what the next three weeks look like:

Image

Week 7 looks wonky but only because I end up running two long runs to free myself up for the 5K St. Patrick’s Day fun run.

Yesterday I ran a slow 10K and it felt amazing. I got outside and it was cold but after the first five minutes the run was smooth and almost effortless. My pace was very slow at just over 6 mins a kilometre but it was on purpose. It was my first 10K in a long time but the whole point is the build-up and feeling more than ready to hit the 12 and 14 K long runs in March. I hate rushing into long runs. It’s exhausting and frustrating when you feel like you can’t finish.

Another great thing about yesterday’s run: getting outside. It was just a few degrees Celsius below zero so I wore three layers, which was maybe a bit much, but I didn’t want to chance feeling too cold. The roads were clear so I mostly ran on the streets where it was safe. The sidewalks around here are pitiful, ice-ridden death traps. (I don’t blame anyone; there’s way too many km of sidewalks to clear for our city’s small tax base, and I ain’t paying higher taxes). Harbour Passage, however, was perfect. Clear and dry. How perfect is it to run beside the harbour on a still Sunday morning?

It took me a while to adapt my own training plan for this spring’s half. I wanted to schedule in some time for cross training, including “bootcamp” – which is small group class of weights and various strength and x-training exercises – as well as yoga and spinning. It’s hard to fit all this stuff in when you’re training for a half but I think I have a plan that works. I’ve also budgeted time for a trip to Jamaica in mid-April (just three weeks before the race). I’m a little nervous about pulling back around that time but hoping to make up for it with long runs immediately before and after the trip.

On top of the training, I’ve been making a real effort to increase my intake of H20. I got a new 1 L Nalgene and I’m trying really hard (and mostly succeeding) to drink 3 L a day. I’m already feeling a difference with fewer headaches and more energy to get through tougher workouts, like the hour-long spin class.

Drinking water makes your body a “well-oiled machine” during a work-out, according to this article, and I can believe it. It makes you feel stronger and able to work-out longer because you heart doesn’t have to work as hard to pump blood, and oxygen and nutrients are transported more effectively to the muscles.

I found this nifty hydration calculator – give it a try to see how much water you should be consuming. It recommended I should drink 2.3 L a day.

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “The training plan”

  1. Thanks for that hydration calculator. At most, I’m probably drinking 1.5 litres of water a day and this thing is saying I need 2.7! I will try harder to drink more! Good luck on your second half April! You will dominate!!!

Leave a Reply

