Dabbling in CrossFit

I am a new kind of tired.

Like empty-the-tank tired.

Training for a half-marathon is tough enough, but adding new, challenging exercise to the mix is zapping my energy.

Now, what kind of crazy person would start a new workout routine less than a month before a half-marathon? I’m nodding my head. Me.

But I’m not alone, at least not on the crazy, new exercise routine front:

Julie, Amy and April
Julie, Amy and April (missing is Jen)

Some great friends and I have decided to take our first plunge into CrossFit, a strength and conditioning program that is taking the world by storm.

We joined a six-week bootcamp, with classes twice a week. It should give us a real taste of the CrossFit world, and, two weeks in, I think we already have a pretty good idea.

CrossFit describes its program as “constantly varied, high intensity, functional movement.” Workouts are typically short and intense, demanding all-out physical exertion.

The classes usually consist of a warm-up, learning new moves, the workout and stretching.

The workouts are usually only 10-15 minutes but they leave you completely drained.

Tonight, the workout was done in pairs. We each ran 400 metres, then split 100 kettleballs, 100 push-ups, 200 flutter kicks, then ran together for another 400 metres. Trust me, it’s so much harder than it sounds. The push-ups are my least favourite. I feel like I have zero upper-body strength.

The classes are a little competitive. Each workout is timed, which I kind of like because it pushes you that little bit harder. Jen and I kicked some butt tonight but didn’t manage to beat the stealth of Julie and Amy.

SAMSUNG

After the workout, we were blessed with a “special treat.” Squats done in tabata intervals. I don’t even have the energy to explain (nor can I tackle household stairs).

The classes feel so exhilarating and terrible all at once. I guess that’s the point.

Now I only hope I’m not limping too much tomorrow for my planned 8K easy run, my last training run for the YSJ 10K on Saturday.

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “Dabbling in CrossFit”

  1. Glad to see hear you are enjoying yourself. It is different and not for everyone as it challenges many aspects of fitness and not just one area. I am in the same boat. I have added running to the mix and am feeling more drained than usual. Tabata B2B are nasty especially after a workout.

Leave a Reply

