Realm of possibility

A few days ago, I started a new column for the Telegraph-Journal, called Conversations. I’m sitting down to have lunch with each member of Saint John’s city council, and in the process, learn a bit more about them and where they stand on municipal issues.

photo(10)

I love writing profiles, highlighting details and uncovering layers of a person’s life that gives you more insight into what kind of person they really are.

For Gerry Lowe, my most recent lunch date, I found it in his ruby ring. He kept fiddling with it during the interview, but I didn’t even have to ask. The conversation eventually drifted to what he considers his greatest accomplishment: he ran the New York City Marathon in 1987. He had the ring made as a memento.

Of course, being the avid runner that I am, this sprung out at me as a sign of character. Running 42 km is no easy feat.

But then, the conversation turned to me. Was I a marathoner? Was I planning on running one?

“It’s all mental, right? There’s a physical part to it, but most of it’s mental,” said Lowe, a down-to-earth businessman and retired postal worker.

“You’ve got to do it, April,” he said, once he learned I’m into running half-marathons. “Once you make your mind up, you’ll have no trouble.”

So this thought has been bopping through my head over the past few days. Gerry Lowe has run a marathon. One of my best friends is running her first marathon this fall. People do it all the time. It’s really within the realm of the possible.

And then after I ran 19 km on Monday before covering the evening council meeting, I had another thought. I’m already halfway there.

How long does it take to prepare for a marathon anyway? How much more work could it really be?

Last night I stayed up late looking up training plans and making mad calculations. Could I run a marathon this fall? Just continue on after running the Marathon by the Sea on Aug. 11?

No decision has been made. My legs are pretty tired from the final stretch of this training plan. And at this point, I can’t imagine doubling the distance that seriously hurts to complete.

But little by little, I’m finding myself warming up to the idea of running a marathon. Maybe not this year, but someday, yes. I no longer consider it impossible, and that’s pretty cool.

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “Realm of possibility”

  1. I read that online, did not catch the byline but saw the M-word and thought only one person could have written this….and I was correct. As for making the jump, you will have no problems, if not the fall, then the spring for sure! Good luck..

Leave a Reply

