Oh, what a feeling

Feet stinging, legs aching, mouth smiling, I crossed the finish line in 2:09:09 today for my third half-marathon at the Marathon by the Sea.

Image

But the best part wasn’t beating last year’s time by a solid seven minutes.

It was having my lovely Aunt Marylou at the finish line – along with my husband, and mother and father in law, and several great friends and fellow runners. Yeah, I’m a pretty lucky girl.

Reflecting on the day, my pride is overflowing: for my mother-in-law, who defies being a senior by running five-miles in 1:10, my husband, for sharing my love of races and running five miles in less than 45 minutes (again!), and Jen, my best Saint John running buddy/pace bunny for blasting away her two hour goal.

Image
April, Jen, Margaret and Mark, moments before the run.

Race re-cap to come… for now I’m just basking in this post-run glow.

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

Leave a Reply

