Night rider

Thanks to the kind person who beeped their horn at me while I was running across Douglas Avenue tonight. I’m not sure who you are, but it lifted my spirits, and as I lifted both arms to wave back, it made me feel like I was winning a race.

When it’s dark out and you’re tired and hungry after a day at the office, running feels like the last thing you want to do. But I knew I just had to eke out 10 km tonight, after bailing on two chances to run on Sunday (didn’t feel like running in the rain, and later, opted for supper rather than a run).

This 10 km was the last of the long runs, marking the beginning of my taper week before the Moncton half next weekend.

(Tapering is glorious. You get to run easy, and eat as many carbs as you can handle, guilt-free.)

And so, tonight I headed out with my new race outfit, to give it a test run for next Sunday. It was about 5-6 C but felt very comfortable. I was wearing knee-length capris and a Lululemon swiftly top I recently exchanged for the one that got a run in it a little while ago.

I was also wearing  Saucony shoes I recently picked up from Alex Coffin‘s shop on the west side.

The weather, my energy levels, everything – felt just right. It was the kind of run you run for: effortless, crisp and fun. I clocked in and exactly one hour for 10 km.

Image
Pitch black when I got home at about 7:30 p.m.

So this week, it’s the final preparation for the Legs for Literacy event on Sunday. It will be my fourth half-marathon, and my third this year.

The third piece in my Tri-Cities medal collection is so close I can taste it.

Image

To cap off my training for the season, this week I plan on running just one other 5 km, probably on Wednesday, with a few one-minute bursts of speed within the run. I may also do a class at the gym to fit in some much needed strength-training.

And Saturday, I plan on running the Creepy Crawly 5 km, complete with costume, before taking off to Moncton.

See? Tapering is awesome.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

Leave a Reply

