Adjusting to late fall

It seems like it’s been ages since the last time I felt the urge to lace up and hit the pavement.

Really, it’s just been two-and-a-half weeks since that double header weekend when I ran the Creepy Crawly 5K, followed by the half at Legs for Literacy in Moncton.

When I got to dress up like the true cat lady I am go for a purrfect-run!

Image

(Not as cool as these costumes though…)

Image

My goal after that hectic weekend was to totally chill out for a week, then gradually get back into the groove and maintain my base until the New Year, when I promise to reveal my next big goal.

But I have found the getting back into the groove part to be tougher than expected. Blame it on the early darkness, fatigue or just laziness, I don’t know, but I’m just not feeling like my peppy self.

Last week was the first full week back on track, and I worked out three times, including two spinning classes, some strength training and an easy 5K run near my house.

So far this week I’ve only gone to the gym once, where I ran 5K on the treadmill, did 5 mins of rowing, and blasted away at some ab exercises.

I can’t help but feel that my confidence is waning. I feel bloated and tired. That speedy half-marathon, my personal best that made me so proud, feels like eons ago. Why?

ImageImage

It seems that not much compares to pushing to your physical limits. Probably why people say they get addicted to running, and continuing to increase their distances.

For now, I’m not planning on going on any long runs beyond 10K. I’d like to keep running outside until the snow falls, at least once a week, plus two to three more sessions doing anything in the gym.

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

One thought on “Adjusting to late fall”

  1. Hey there!
    I just found your blog….I’m a fellow East Coast Blogger too!!! πŸ™‚

    Very cute costume. I love those LEGO people!

    I ran the full at Legs for Literacy in 2012. It was my first time in Moncton.

    I often feel the same way after PR’ing. This time of year with the early sunset doesn’t make it any easier. I’ve been working hard at getting out for a run no matter how much I want to stay in the warm house. πŸ™‚ I just tell myself how much better I’ll feel after I’m done.

Leave a Reply

