Keep at it

Today I ran a shockingly powerful 5K on the treadmill, bump and all!

ImageThe run started off slow, at about 5.8 mph. I took a 90-second walk break at 8:30. Then I repeated for another 10 minutes. For the last 10 minutes I wanted to kick it up a notch, so i started at 6.1 and cranked up the speed by 0.1 every minute. By 28 minutes I was running at 6.8 mph and feeling great!

So far I have discovered that when you’re running pregnant, a warm-up is key. The first 10 minutes don’t feel awesome. But once I get in the zone, it all seems to fall into place.

I haven’t been running a lot during this pregnancy, especially since entering the second trimester (I’m now at almost 22 weeks – more than halfway!). But I’m staying active and trying to run at least once a week. I guess in the back of my mind, my fear is that when I’m ready to get back into running after having the baby, I won’t be able to. I’m scared of going back to my pre-running days, which were far less healthy, and far less fit. This is part of the reason why I want to keep at it for as long as I can. My doctor has given me the a-OK to keep at it. In fact, she says it’s great for a better pregnancy, labour and recovery. Just no contact sports, she says, which is fine with me.

It’s kind of an amazing feeling to have a good workout with a baby along for the ride. Endorphins are flying through the air. I feel strong and female. Once in a while, I touch my belly and it feels so snug and secure. I know the baby is just fine. And who knows, baby might just catch the running bug too.

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “Keep at it”

  1. Oh! You run faster than I do … and while carrying too!

    I think you’ll teach the little one great healthy habits. 🙂

Leave a Reply

