Diary of a hungry pregnant girl

I’ll admit some days are a struggle. I’m trying to eat all the things I’m supposed to: protein, calcium, veggies, iron, whole grains – and sometimes I just want to eat something delicious.Β  Like a donut, or a chocolate bar, or a muffin. Or, drink a giant coffee. On Tuesday, at 23 weeks, I wrote down everything I ate to give you a fun little peak into my crazy, food-obsessed, pregnant journalist life.

SAMSUNG

8 a.m. – Wake up after a good sleep. It’s the morning after a council meeting, which always makes it a little tougher to get moving.
8:30 a.m. – Eat bowl of Raisin Bran with 1% milk and a giant navel orange, and tall glass of water (protein, iron, whole grain, calcium, Vit C).
10:00 a.m. – Sitting in a board meeting for my first assignment, furiously taking notes since I forgot my recorder. My pencil is dull. The room is tiny, hot. I feel sweaty. Now I feel nauseous. I need air, water. But I need a story. Must stay. Ughhhhh..
11:15 – Drive away with heat off, windows down. It’s -8 C but I’m sooo hot and feeling gross. I think I’m actually starving.
11:40 – Hit up Tim’s drive-thru and go for chicken salad sandwich on whole wheat and green tea (whole grain, protein, veg, caffeine). Really wanted a donut, but didn’t do it. Drive past a runner and feel envy. Get back to the office by noon and mow down. Sneak in a couple chocolate covered almonds I have stashed at my desk.
12:40 – Finally feeling back to life. Fill up my Nalgene bottle and get writing.
2:20 – Hunger strikes. Eat Greek yogurt and berries (protein – 18 g, calcium, Vit C). Baby kicking!
3:40 – Almonds and dried apricots. Still fighting nausea as I embark on my second story, a column on the fire chief.
4:20 – Banana. My hunger is insatiable today!
4:30 – Overheating. Remove my wool vest and stick my head out the window at work, literally. Fill up my water bottle for third time (making a total of 1.5 litres by this point)
6: 15 p.m. – Leave the office feeling much better, and head to the gym.
6:30 p.m. – Spend 30 minutes on the treadmill, running and fast walking for a total of 2.5 miles. Hop on the rower for five minutes, and finish off with three planks, each held to the count of 20.
7:30 p.m. – Heading home. Starving again. Luckily, hubby has dinner ready: a tasty chicken fried brown rice with curry flavours (protein, whole grains) with glass of milk (calcium).
8 p.m. – I steam up some broccoli to up my veggie intake (greens, calcium) and watch two episodes of Corrie. Drink decaf herbal tea.
9:30 p.m. – Hubby needs a nap before his night shift so I crawl in bed with him and watch an episode of House of Cards while he snoozes. I snooze a bit too.
10:15 p.m. – Stomach rumbling so I make one slice of whole wheat toast with natural peanut butter and honey. Watch a bit of Downton Abbey but I fall asleep on the couch.
11 p.m. – Migrate to the bed. Goodnight!
Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

5 thoughts on “Diary of a hungry pregnant girl”

Leave a Reply

