Facing the truth

It was the second day into my third trimester when I realized my pregnant running days were drawing to a close.

I had tried a brisk, 10-minute walk on the treadmill (on an incline) followed by a five-minute run at 5.7 mph. Repeated this twice to make a 30 minute workout. It was not exactly comfortable, but bearable.

But boy, did I ever feel it when I got home. My mid section was killing me. My hips and lower abdomen were tight and sore. The feeling lasted a couple days.

I always said I would keep running as long as I could through this pregnancy. And I guess just because it’s pretty uncomfortable to run now doesn’t mean I can’t. But I’ve decided to take a cue from my body (and my baby) and slow it down a notch. Time to turn those runs into walks. The last thing I want is to end up with an injury, or worse, to take a tumble that could hurt the baby.

But oh… how jealous I am of my friends who are feeling the joys of spring’s first lovely runs. I think about last year at this time, and how I was knee-deep in half-marathon training. I was in tip-top shape, and now I’m waddling around, breathless half the time.

I know that just because I’ve chosen not to run doesn’t mean I can’t stay in decent shape. I can still hit the elliptical, stair climber or bikes, and I can take spinning classes no problem. I have also thought about dropping in to the Aquatic Centre for some swims.

And there are walks in the fresh air through the neighbourhood. Tonight’s walk was a pleasant, 40-minute jaunt. After a brutal winter, it was so nice outside, and there’s nothing like a good walk to clear the mind. I can use this time to listen to some informative podcasts, I thought to myself tonight. (Not like running, which for me, demands spicy dance and/or pop music).

In my last 10 weeks of pregnancy, I hope to walk most days. The same group who joined me on a run streak last December have restarted the plan to coincide with the NHL playoffs, which should end just a couple weeks before my due date. I’ve decided to make mine a walk streak.

But going from running to walking is a little like taking the caffeine out of your coffee. Like taking the sugar out of your cookie. It’s just not the same.

Image
28 weeks as of April 2
Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

2 thoughts on “Facing the truth”

Leave a Reply

