Spectator sport

Over the past couple weeks, I had not one, but two vivid dreams that I was able to take part in this year’s YSJ 10K.

At nearly 33 weeks pregnant, this simply was not possible for me. But on Saturday, I did have joy of watching my husband and many close friends cross the finish line. I got to live vicariously through their collective exhilaration.

Kevin McEachern, victorious after a time of 48:35 in his first 10K
Kevin McEachern, victorious after a time of 48:35 in his first 10K

The Saint John Airport run gives runners the unique opportunity of running the flat asphalt of the airport runway. One lap is five kilometres, and two laps is 10K. This was the event’s fourth year.

I have run the 10K race twice before – last year and in 2012 – and I will never forget the feeling I had two year ago for my first 10K. I couldn’t believe I had it in me. It’s what inspired me to tackle my first half-marathon later that summer.

This year, I learned to take a step back and watch (with glee) as my husband had that experience for the first time too. Despite tackling his first 10K after working a night shift, he excelled with a time of 53:21.

 

Mark and I before the run
Mark and I before the run

Aside from watching Mark, I had so much fun mingling about, chatting to friends and people I have met through the running community and my work at the Telegraph-Journal.

What a thrill to catch the male and female winners of the 10K.

20140503_140728
Dean Strowbridge blasted across the finish line at 34:06
Boston Marathon competitor Brenda Guitard finished in 41 minutes
Boston Marathon competitor Brenda Guitard finished in 41 minutes

And also catch some other great friends too:

Janie Jones, after her first 5K, Mark and Kevin
Janie Jones, after her first 5K, Mark and Kevin
Julia Wright, who took part in the first-ever "double dare" - running both races in 80 minutes
Julia Wright, who took part in the first-ever “double dare” – running both races in 80 minutes
Scott Briggs, sports reporter for the Telegraph-Journal, with his speed-demon wife, Stacey, who crushed 5K in 22:14, and Kevin Barrett, fellow running blogger, who raced a swift 10K in 49:15
Scott Briggs, sports reporter for the Telegraph-Journal, with his speed-demon wife, Stacey, who crushed 5K in 22:14, and Kevin Barrett, fellow running blogger, who raced a swift 10K in 49:15

What a great way to kick-off the 2014 running season, which for me will be a spectator sport.

I’m OK with that.

 

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “Spectator sport”

Leave a Reply

