If I could run…

This past weekend included three New Brunswick races that would have been so great to participate in:

– The St. Andrews Father’s Day 5-Miler

– The 3-km memorial run for RCMP officers gunned down in Moncton on June 4

– The Bay of Fundy Marathon (between Maine and NB)

Lucky for me, I got to tag along with my husband and friends who ran the St. Andrews road race. Once again, I was in the cheering section, watching my baby daddy gallop along the pretty streets of St. Andrews on the Passamaquoddy Bay.

20140615_102031-1
A bagpiper serenades runners along Water Street in St. Andrews.

It appears to be a challenging course, with a “lung-burner” hill near around the fourth mile. It was also slightly windy, misty and humid on Sunday, making for less-than-ideal conditions. Still, it was fun to be apart of the event, watching friends make that awe-inspiring run toward the finish line. Just another bit of inspiration for me to get back at, hopefully a few weeks after our baby is born toward the end of June.

The Bay of Fundy Marathon just sounds cool. I want to add it to my running bucket list. When else could you cross an international border over the course of a run? It’s a Boston-qualifier, includes a 10-K, and seems to cover a picturesque course between Lubec, Maine and Campobello Island, NB. One to mark on next year’s calendar, for sure.

As for the Moncton run, an estimated 7,000 people showed up on Sunday to walk, run and cycle, raising an estimated $100,000 for the fallen Mounties’ families, according to media reports.

I – like many New Brunswickers, and indeed Canadians – felt deeply impacted by the Moncton shootings. I wrote stories from the Saint John newsroom (only about an hour away), including on my last day of work before maternity leave, when I co-wrote an obituary piece on Const. Doug Larche, one of the three slain officers. As well as a treasured father, husband and police investigator, Larche was a runner. He landed a personal best half-marathon time in Fredericton this spring at 1:41:40 (an impressive time, considering many runners, including me, struggle to get under the two-hour mark). Just another reason why these shootings still feel close to home.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

One thought on “If I could run…”

Leave a Reply

