Still not running

Life is so different but so beautiful with a newborn (now two-months-old!) baby. 

20140826_150929

Running is like my last priority right now. 

For now it’s all about feeding, cuddling, sleeping, playing and squeezing in the odd shower or load of laundry here and there. We are finding new rhythms and all my focus is on my boy. 

When I was pregnant, I had such lofty ideas of getting back into running just a few weeks after giving birth. I pictured long, brisk walks with the stroller and yoga and strength work-outs at home with the baby. I wanted to lose the baby weight fast. But sometimes things don’t go as you planned.

About a month ago, i came down with a pretty bad infection related to breastfeeding. I didn’t realize it, though, for about two weeks, after I was very sick. I had an unscheduled surgery a couple weeks ago to deal with the aftermath. It was a curve ball, especially with a newborn who needs me 24/7. Luckily, i am recovering well and starting to feel back to my old self. 

Through it all, Silas has thrived and is such a good-natured baby. We feel so lucky! 

So running will come eventually… whether it’s this fall or into the winter. But right now it’s just about healing and spending precious moments with my son. 

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

One thought on “Still not running”

Leave a Reply

