Jelly belly

Silas and I have kept busy the past few days. My little man doesn’t seem to mind – he has been exceptionally cute and good natured lately. Of course, I am biased, but come on…

IMG_20140911_165203

Last Thursday, we tried a Stroller Fit class in Rockwood Park. I found a Facebook group a while back and had been meaning to try it. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but for $7, was quite pleased with the quality of the workout. It included a little bit of everything, from high knees, to side shuffles, light jogging, push-ups, step-ups onto picnic tables – the list goes on. I like how the instructor involves the babies – we sang “Wheels on the Bus” among other tunes – and the hour passed by so quickly. As for Silas, he was fast asleep for almost the entire class.

Friday, we met one of my co-workers for coffee, followed by a little shopping.

20140912_141345

When we got home around 5 p.m., Silas was asleep in the car. I knew he would wake up just in time for his fussy period when we got in the house, so I opened up the stroller and took him for a spin around the neighbourhood. It was a beautiful afternoon with a warm sun and touch of fall in the air.

Saturday was the Dog Jog at Rockwood Park. I promised my friend, one of the SPCA directors, that we would walk. So, despite not having a dog, Silas and I faithfully showed up and walked alongside dozens of cute pooches. He is just starting to take notice of furry friends, but again, Silas was fast asleep the entire walk (which included some steep sections on trails – quite a challenge with the stroller!).

Our first successful day trip was Sunday, when the three of us took a drive to Moncton to shop and visit with friends. Everything takes a little longer with a little one, as we followed his eat/sleep/awake rhythms, but we still had a good time.

Mark and I were on the hunt for a few updates to our wardrobes. I have been living in yoga/stretchy pants all summer and have come to the conclusion that my baby weight is not melting away as fast as hoped. But I was hit with a bit of a rude awakening when I tried on a size bigger than normal, only to find out that, no, I’mΒ two sizes up from before. Ugh.

I tried not to let it get to me because although my pants size is way up, my weight isn’t too bad with only about 10 pounds to go. And hopefully in time, I will get back to the old me, or close to it. I’m trying not to be vain. It’s just sometimes sad to think I was the thinnest and fittest I had ever been before pregnancy and now set back a few steps with a jelly belly to boot.

So today I started tracking my food, just to get an idea of whether I have been overeating. I took account of the extra calories I need for breastfeeding, and found that by suppertime, I was very close to the max (even including calories burned during an hour-long walk).

I think for the past few weeks, especially when I’m tired or when I was sick, I was mindlessly eating. I have also been eating plenty in the night when I’m up feeding Silas. And there have been treats – lots of them. Bulk Barn trips have always included visits to the candy aisle. If we’re picking up a coffee, why not a muffin or donut too. Sweets and treats are my weakness and I have been slowly falling back into old ways.

Hopefully a focus on continuing to get out for active outings with a little meal/snack planning will help us veer back on track.

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

4 thoughts on “Jelly belly”

  1. I think you are doing great and have nothing to worry about, but I also know where you’re coming from (even though I’ve never had a baby) and don’t think your feelings should be discounted. It is so hard to find a balance between staying relaxed/enjoying life, and trying to stay motivated to be fit. I have been thinking of writing a post about this topic. Maybe I will now!

  2. I wouldn’t worry about your weight. It will fall off and you will be thinner then ever before by the time he is 12-13-14 months.. Then you will tone that and look better than ever..

    Now, it’s too close to a huge change on your body. Just enjoy this time. And don’t worry about it. You will be thin in no time…. Once they get moving. You don’t stop moving.

    >

Leave a Reply

