Baby’s first trip

IMG_20140930_112954

Our little family has just returned after spending a few days with my family in Ontario for my sister’s beautiful wedding.

The trip marked Silas’s first time on an airplane and first time sleeping away from home. Both seemed to go off without a hitch. Aside from a few messy diapers (with messes that would not stay in the diaper), we didn’t encounter any major issues. Our little man – who is now 14 weeks old – has been a little fussy the past couple of nights but I chalk it up to him being a little overtired from the trip.

Planning a week-long excursion away from home was daunting for me, even though it was just at my parents’ place. I worried that Silas wouldn’t nap, or that he’d be up all through the night. He actually seemed to sleep better than he does at home. And he barely cried (except when he was hungry or tired). Instead, he gazed around and took in his surroundings. He seemed to love looking at all the people.

A few things I learned on the trip that may help other new mamas about to take the plunge:

  • You are not supposed to breastfeed on take-off and landing, even though it’s what doctors recommend to stop the baby’s ears from popping. Apparently it’s a safety issue (with Air Canada at least) and you’re supposed to hold your baby over your shoulder. Silas cried a bit on the descent but didn’t seem to be in pain.
  • A baby carrier for the airport and other places you are carrying multiple bags was a must. I travelled alone with Silas on the way to Ontario and needed my hands for one suitcase, the diaper bag, my purse and camera. Add a baby to the mix and, yeah, you need a baby carrier. We invested in an Ergo for the trip. I love it but he doesn’t always like feeling confined. On that way back to New Brunswick, Silas started protesting the Ergo while we were waiting to check bags. I ended up taking him out and carrying him normally, but luckily, my hubby was able to help juggle our belongings.
  • Borrow stuff. We borrowed a car seat and didn’t bother bringing a stroller. Also, there was a playpen at my mom’s that Silas slept in.
  • I tried to stick to routines but knew everything would get thrown off. We gave Silas a bath most nights, but obviously not the night of the wedding. He was usually ready for bed early but I tried to keep him up a bit so he wouldn’t be confused by the one-hour time difference. And, when we were out at my sister’s wedding, it was amazing how he just slept right through the noise.
  • Keeping calm in dicey situations is a must. Silas has couple major diaper explosions in public places, but both times, I acted quickly and managed to get things cleaned up in no time. It’s amazing what wipes can do.
  • Accept help. Since I was a bridesmaid in the wedding, I couldn’t be with my baby at all times. I’m not used to that! But when Silas was upset and my husband needed a hand, help wasn’t far away. My aunt, grandmother and sisters-in-law were great.

Travelling with a little one is not easy but it’s doable. Now travelling with two young kids, that, I can not fathom.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

Leave a Reply

