First stroller run

20141103_165114

It was freezing cold and dreary, but we did it: our first run together as mama and baby.

I had been looking forward to this day for so long – running with my little sidekick! Now that Silas has good head control (he’s now four months old), I think it’s safe for me to run with him. It’s especially safe since I still put him in the infant car seat, which clicks into my jogging stroller, and I only jogged with him on smooth pavement.

Since it was bitterly cold today – hovering around 1 C with a dusting of snow on the ground – I bundled him up in many layers, including this white fleece sleeper and his new fox hat. This summer baby is not used to all the clothes!

20141103_165646

Then, I put his car seat snuggly thing over the seat. I closed the little flap over his face, which felt kind of mean, but he kept cooing to me from his little fort, and eventually fell asleep.

I have a rather cheap running stroller from Baby Trend (kind of kicking myself for not springing for a really good running stroller… which I might still do), but it actually works really well. It has three large wheels, like bicycle wheels, that can take little bumps well and makes the stroller fairly effortless to push. We end up using this jogging stroller for everything.

We stuck to flat, paved terrain today and pushing the stroller did not feel like much extra work. It is strange to get used to the feeling of keeping your arms stationary while running, but you can alternate hands, keeping one hand on the handle bars.

We kept close to home, in case of melt-downs (from me or him, haha), and managed to go for a little more than three kilometres. Not bad for our first try!

I hope this is our first of many runs together. It’s too bad he had to wait until the cooler months to get in some short runs with his mama, but with lots of bundling, I’m sure we’ll have many chances to run before it gets too cold outside.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

6 thoughts on “First stroller run”

  1. You go, girl! So inspiring. #runlikeamom haha I don’t know if that’s a hashtag, but it should be!

    p.s. I’ve been running 3 times a week since Oct 4, and I went for my first run on the snowy trails yesterday (it’s permanently snowy here now)! Will definitely need to experiment with layering, but I was surprised that I was able to stay upright!! Yay! Do you ever run on snow?

    1. Yes but my experience is limited. I usually resort to the treadmill when it gets really cold and snowy. As long as it’s packed down I don’t mind though! I’ve never tried Yak Traks or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

