Mama’s first race

I’ve signed up for a 5K!

It’s the Santa Shuffle, happening Dec. 6. That means I have four weeks to really get back at it.

Last week I managed three short runs, including our first stroller run, a 4K on my own, and a 20-minute treadmill run.

Between now and the shuffle, I’m hoping to get in three runs a week, plus one other activity, and a few strength exercises at home. Silas and I also usually get out for daily walks.

As I’ve learned, it’s important not to overdo it as a new mama.

And I know it’s just a fun run… but this is sort of momentous!

It will be my first race post-baby. The only race on the calendar for 2014. And, I’m hoping this run works as motivation for me to shed a bit more baby weight, gain back more running stamina/strength, and sign up for more races in 2015.

Today, Remembrance Day, was gorgeous in Saint John. It was so mild and sunny. After attending our local remembrance service, Mark and I got some chores done. Then I set out for a 4K run. It was warm enough for short sleeves and cropped pants.

I have been living by the run/walk setting on my Garmin during recent runs. For now I have it set at run 4 mins/walk 1 minute. I want to increase the running time by one minute every week and hopefully I can run 10-and-ones for the shuffle.

Hanging out with my buddy before a short run.
Hanging out with my buddy before a short run.
Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

One thought on “Mama’s first race”

Leave a Reply

