Consistency

Hallelujah, running is getting enjoyable again. I was worried those days would never return!

Over the past two weeks, I have run consistently. Not a lot – but enough. The weather has been a mixed bag of cold, rainy, snowy and beautiful, and I managed to mostly run on the beautiful days.

Here are some observations:

– I forgot how refreshing it can be to run on a cold day. It’s hard to leave the warm house on a chilly day but once you get out there, it almost always feels great.

– Turns out I really didn’t need walk breaks every 4-5 minutes. On one particularly cold day last week, I didn’t stop to walk until my halfway point (too cold!), and I was fine.

– I haven’t changed my running playlist in an entire year! Since I haven’t been running much in 2014, I’m actually not sick of the songs. And they remind me of running half-marathons so it’s kind of inspiring. Still, I need some change. Any suggestions?

– I made it back to spinning class on the weekend and didn’t die! I was, however, feeling pretty nauseous by the end. Probably just need to chug more water.

Silas and I are trying a fun mommy and baby swim class and it has been a blast! It’s kind of like aqua-fit. I was surprised how tired my body felt afterwards too. Great cross-training exercise that doesn’t even feel like work. Silas was so relaxed by the movement of the water that he almost fell asleep!

download_20141118_194255

Overall, I’m feeling stronger and healthier every day. I’m trying to find the right balance between respecting my body and challenging it, and I think I’m doing pretty well.

Two weeks till the Santa Shuffle – and less than a week before my lil’ guy turns five months!!

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

Leave a Reply

