The chocolates are calling me…

I’m always amazed when I hear about people throwing out their Christmas chocolate to start fresh in January. Really? But it’s perfectly good chocolate…

I, too, have vowed to clean up my eating. I haven’t set any diet or weight-loss goals, instead preferring to focus on my next big running goal:Β run a 13K race on April 12.

My other health-related goals are simple and achievable, but easy to let slip:

Drink at least 2.5 litres of water/day. I should obviously already be on top of this since I’m breastfeeding but I know I often fall short.

Eat veggies with every lunch/dinner. I am a real fruit eater but can often bypass the veggies, which is a bad habit I’m trying to break.

So back to the chocolate. I stuffed a bunch of unopened chocolate in the freezer, along with a few leftover Christmas baking. And I can go most of the day without even thinking about it. But by the time 4 p.m. rolls around, I get the munchies. My hubby is off to work for his evening shift, it’s me and the baby, who is growing more irritable by the hour, and I find myself reaching for a frozen chocolate truffle. AH!

In a stroke of serendipity, I got a call from GoodLife on Monday. I won a free week at the gym. The funny thing is, I don’t even remember entering my name in the draw. (Maybe they were just trying to reel me back in?)

IMG_20150106_164113The timing was good because I was just trying to figure out what to do about running in this frigid weather. I’m not afraid of a little cold-weather running, but I’m not equipped to run in -20C weather.

So I was able to get a couple treadmill runs in on Tuesday and Wednesday, surrounded by hoards of other “January joiners” just like me.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

Leave a Reply

