My 13K training plan

In just 2.5 months I will be running my first official race in a year and a half. Having a 13K run on the horizon is both daunting and exciting.

Although there is still lots of time, I decided to rough out a training plan so I don’t leave it all to the last minute and risk an injury. I want to get plenty of miles on my feet so running 13K doesn’t feel like the end of the world – and it shouldn’t, knowing that I am perfectly capable of running 21.

However, I’m trying to be kind to myself, knowing that, yes… it was only seven months ago that I gave birth. And the farthest I have run in months is 5K. So here goes.

  • Run three times a week, including one “long run”
  • Strength workouts two times a week

Basically I have enough time to gradually increase my distance by one kilometre every long run from now on. So this weekend I am up for 6K, next weekend 7K and so on, until I hit 13K in mid-March.

It’s not a strenuous plan but consistent, so it should do the trick.

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been doing all my running at the gym. Mark and I joined little gym in our west Saint John neighbourhood so it’s super easy for me to skip out while Mark is home so he can watch the baby.

20150118_122126

20150114_120825
#runfie

Overall I love getting out for a workout since it’s one of  my only real breaks from babyland. But sometimes it’s hard to find the energy and motivation. Like today, I should have run, but didn’t. Oh well.

For strength workouts, I’m doing mostly body weight exercises like squats, lunges and modified push-ups. There have been so many workout ideas posted lately. So there’s no shortage of ways to change it up.

The last couple of times I’ve used an app to time 20-seconds of work, followed by 10 seconds of rest. I did five rounds of jump squats, push-ups, lunges with weights and a twist, bent-over rows balancing on one leg, and kettlebell swings. I got the workout from an old issue of Canadian Running (sorry, I wasn’t able to find the workout to link it online).

2015-01-16 16.36.02

I’m a fan of having a goal race on the horizon. It gives me the motivation to exercise. Working out at the gym can be a chore, but being prepared for a spring race will be sooo worth it.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

3 thoughts on “My 13K training plan”

  1. Tabatas are crazy…20s on 10s off for 4 minutes. I bought Tabata songs on iTunes but when I do that workout a lot of cursing happens for about 5 minutes afterwards

Leave a Reply

