A little running, a lot of snow

My grand plan of working out at least three times a week in preparation for the Lorneville Loop 13K is proving a little more difficult than I expected.

I have only run twice in two weeks. Yikes!

20150209_144749
This was after an 8km run last Monday.

I could use the snow as an excuse, but that would be the easy way out.

Mark's the one who has been doing most of the shoveling. And this was taken after only two blizzards. We're now on our fifth major snowstorm this month.
Mark’s the one who has been doing most of the shoveling. And this photo was taken after only two blizzards. We’re now on our fifth major snowstorm this month.

I could blame the baby, this little bundle of cuteness. But he is sleeping better and does really well when I leave him with his Daddy.

20150203_081548

Yep, it really comes down to me, and making running a priority again. I was doing so well up until a couple weeks ago. It’s time to make gym trips fit between nap times, baby activities and appointments (I must say, there was a lot going on this week – but again, no excuses!).

On the up side, I have managed to keep on schedule with my long runs. If we weren’t totally snowed in today, I’d be on track to run 9km. I’m hoping I will be able to sneak out and do my run after we get dug out tomorrow.

On the down side, almost every single run so far as been on the treadmill. I miss running outside, and hope I can at least get a few outdoor training runs in before the race on April 12. Since we have mountains of snow on the ground (my clothesline is now buried), this may be wishful thinking.

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

2 thoughts on “A little running, a lot of snow”

  1. We have so much snow here (Nova Scotia) and honestly, I’m thankful I have a treadmill to get my runs in! I do a lot of my winter running and hot summer day running on my treadmill! You’ll get there….it’s hard with little ones but you’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

