Never regret a run

Life has been crazy, but I’m still running.

Thank goodness for that.

My training has been far from perfect, but it’s happening. Through being on solo mommy duty during weeknights, through a persistent bug that went through our house, through travel, through work stress and somehow, through my very, very limited “alone time,” I’m finding (making) time to run.

Signing up for races is the best way I know how to make it happen.

So since my last post, I’ve signed up for another half-marathon. I’ll be running the half at the PEI Marathon on Oct. 18. Prince Edward Island is our family’s favourite place in the Maritimes, so it should be a treat.

Since I ran 10K at the Halifax Blue Nose in May, followed by the half at Marathon By the Sea in Saint John then the half at the PEI Marathon, I should technically qualify for the Maritime challenge medal. Unfortunately, I signed up one day late and so I’m out of luck. Wah-wah. I’ll have to settle for being a Maritime champion on the inside.

So here I am, three weeks away from half-marathon no. 6. Crazy! I’m trying to stick to the plan as closely as possible, but I’m really only squeaking out three to four workouts a week. Still, I feel like I’m improving very gradually, getting stronger as the season progresses.

A couple weeks ago, I ran the Hampton 5-miler for the fourth time. I did not beat my personal best time of 42:30 from 2013, but I definitely held my own at 43:58. To be honest, the whole time I was thinking about Silas, who was under the weather. I felt kind of selfish for even wanting to do the race.

I often wrestle with this kind of guilt, especially when running takes time away from him. But I keep telling myself that taking care of my own health and making time for exercise will make me a better mother.

I may find it hard to get out the door, but I never regret a run.

bzv2tr4Gg9jXTeBplJtGmC7pCZLAoKIjfOQwJNMHoq0

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

Leave a Reply

