Next, PEI

I love the final week before a half-marathon.

First, there’s the tapering. The guilt-free reduction in mileage. Many runners claim they get kind of crazy without all the running. I embrace it.

Long, slow, Sunday run
Long, slow, Sunday run

Then, there’s the carb-loading. Guilt-free eating, heavy on the carbs. Could there be any better time for a Thanksgiving feast, complete with my two favourite boys and homemade pumpkin pie?

Thanksgiving dinner chez Whittaker
Thanksgiving dinner chez Whittaker

Lastly, there’s the anticipation of race day. This is particularly fun attending a new race. This weekend, my husband and I planned out a few details of our weekend in Charlottetown. It filled my stomach with butterflies. There’s so much to look forward to: a free yoga class, free massage, the pasta dinner, eating at our favourite Charlottetown haunts and driving through the fall colours. And then, Sunday, the RACE! I can just picture crossing the finish line at Province House, our country’s birthplace.

I’m feeling good. It’s been 15.5 months since I had my son, and I think it’s safe to say I feel back to my old self. I may not be as speedy as I was in 2013, but I’m in good shape. My legs are strong and it feels good to run.

I haven’t thought much about goals. I could say I want a personal best (and I do), but I’m not going to kill myself over it. The beauty of a new course is I’ll set a personal course record no matter what. And for me, I’m just proud of the fact that I’ve been able to train for two consecutive half-marathons while balancing my new responsibilities as a working mom.

I woke up at 6 a.m. unprompted on Saturday. So like any sane person, I took advantage of my
I woke up at 6 a.m. unprompted on Saturday. So like any sane person, I took advantage of my “free time” and went for a run. Came home, made coffee, and baby woke up.
Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

5 thoughts on “Next, PEI”

  1. Hope to run into you! I’m so looking forward to running the half at PEI as well! I’m heading over to PEI from NS Friday without our girls so it’s going to be a weird trip without them!
    PS – my parents have the same dishes πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

