Long run Sunday

There’s something very satisfying about saying “I ran to Rockwood Park and back today.”

If you’re a runner in Saint John, you might know what I mean.

IMG_0054

Today’s long run was 9 miles, or 14 km and change.

After hearing the wind howl and looking out the window to see a dusting of snow on the ground, I totally over-dressed and ended up running with a jacket around my waist.

IMG_0055

The weather turned out to be mostly sunny and very pleasant. Sidewalks were clear and there was zero precipitation.

The first few kilometres felt like a bit of a slog, but I started to pep up as I got closer to the park, my turnaround point.

I didn’t bring any fuel or water along for this run, but I felt OK, with my morning oatmeal giving me good energy throughout the run.

By the time I arrived back home, I was still running strong. My toes were hurting a bit, but the discomfort instantly ended as soon as stopped.

Then life kind of smacked me in the face when I looked at my watch and realized it was 11:30 a.m., and I still had a toddler to get fed and down for a nap, and I had to feed myself, and I had to tidy my house before a visit from friends. There was no time for a shower and I ended up hanging out in my running clothes for the rest of the day. Oops.

Now I’m feeling sore and so tired. It’s been a busy weekend and as my running mileage inches upward, life is not slowing down. Things are getting real, and I’m going to have to figure out a way to fit more sleep, stretching and recovery into this training schedule.

It’s not perfect, but it’s getting done. That’s all I can ask for.

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 9.28.34 PM

Published by

April Runs On

A writer who loves to run, often while chasing a toddler on the east coast

3 thoughts on “Long run Sunday”

  1. It can be hard to juggle it all! I think that’s one reason why I’m glad I’m working on building my base at the moment vs hard training.
    You’ll figure it out. Sometimes we just need a rest day/more sleep when we should be running. Babies/toddlers are exhausting. My 3 year old is having a hard time sleeping due to colds…full nights sleep is rare 😉

Leave a Reply

