I did it!

It was impossibly hot – so hot that the Ottawa Marathon was almost cancelled for the first time in 40 years. But despite temperatures hovering near 30 C, and high humidity, I completed my first marathon today in 5:12:28.

To say it feels incredible would be an understatement. People say marathons change you, and in my case it’s probably true, too.

IMG_0468

If you follow me on SnapChat @aprilrunson, you’ll find a little video diary that shows the highs and lows of the event.

The course was stunning but it was hard. This run was hard work. But I think I stayed strong to the end, even if the walk breaks increased near the end.

I couldn’t have done it without the love and support of my dear husband, who not only agreed to make a couples weekend around this marathon, but met my every need through this training process.

And, he met met at the 37 km mark and ran beside me to the finish.

IMG_0472

An amazing event and experience I will never forget.

More detailed race recap to come!

IMG_0495
Selfie with a robot – just because
Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

2 thoughts on “I did it!”

Leave a Reply

