A running update

IMG_0808

We are loving our new jogging stroller. It feels so great to get out and push my boy through the neighbourhood or local parks.

But man, this summer has been hot! Even here in Saint John, where it’s usually temperate along the coast. It’s been humid too, and I can’t remember the last time I went for a run and didn’t return home just drenched in sweat.

The past month, I have been working on gradually building up my mileage again with the aim of running a fall half-marathon. I recently signed up for Maritime Race Weekend in Eastern Passage, NS. Very pumped to run this race for the first time on Sept. 17.

I’ve also been making more of an effort to improve my speed. I’ve been attending the weekly track nights at the University of New Brunswick Saint John (Tuesdays at 5:30 p.m. if anyone is interested!) led by the venerable Coach Daryl Steeves.

When I told him I have been disappointed with my speed ever since running the marathon, he said training for speed and distance are completely different, which made me feel so much better.

Although I’m usually the slowest runner in attendance, I have found it very helpful and I already feel stronger and faster.

Here’s an example of the workout from the last track night I attended. Added up to 7.5 km.

  • 400 m warm-up
  • 400 m easy, 400 m moderate, 400 m hard (20 s. rest between laps) x4 (1 min rest between reps)
  • 1 km with 3 fartleks

I’m finding my speed on the track is so much faster than I thought I could run – even thought it’s just short bursts – so this is encouraging.

Other highlights from the past month include getting in some long runs with my friend Jen. It always seems so hot, so we take our time, but it’s nice to put the miles in together.

It was also great to run with Alicia through the Irving Nature Park during her visit from Ontario. There is something so wonderful about running with one of your best friends who lives far away.

I also stocked up on shoes before Alex Coffin closed up his West Saint John shop. We will miss him here in the ‘hood but he will still sell shoes from Ken-Val Rehab. And, he is now the general manager of the PotashCorp Civic Centre in Sussex. “You know me, I’m always around,” he told me.

IMG_0769

Published by

April C

Writer, editor and mom in Saint John, NB.

One thought on “A running update”

Leave a Reply

